First let’s agree that brunch at Busboys and Poets is a delight.

That established, Brunch is Hell: How to Save the World by Throwing a Dinner Party (Little, Brown, and Co. $25.00), the newest book from hilarious hosts of The Dinner Party Download Brendan Francis Newman and Rico Gagliano, is certain to put “I will host more dinner parties” at the top of your 2018 New Year’s Resolution list. Why?

Because this book upholds the dinner party as Brendan and Rico put it “as the sanctuary of friendship” and do we need to explain why friendship and civility matter in our society these days? With ample scoops of both charm and snark, Brendan and Rico serve up research, recipes and steps needed to plan and enjoy your own successful dinner party. And they even give you the play lists and cheesy jokes to make it easy and fun even for the most reluctant host (the hippie joke is my favorite).

For fans of David Sedaris or Sarah Vowell, Brunch is Hell will be your new go to gift book to amuse your reading pals with the added benefit of possibly securing you more classy, snail mailed dinner party invitations! And if your hosts follow the Who to Invite advice provided in Brunch is Hell, your fellow dinner party guests probably won’t share all of your opinions on politics or your ideas for the best vacation spot or your dietary preferences – which is GOOD!

With that in mind, a caution to vegans, Brendan’s Stuffed Fried Olives on page 92 contain veal (eww Brendan! Veal = yuck), so feel free to skip the olives and go straight to page 94 for Rico’s Peperonata. (A note from the reviewer:  that was me practicing the art of the potentially controversial guest comment that sparks a quality dinner party conversation as encouraged by the authors. Remember as emphasized in the book, an added benefit of a true dinner party is that you are in the comfort of a private home with other adults you are interested in – you may voice opinions with gusto, demonstrate your new dance moves freely and laugh full throttle!)

The format of the book makes it a quick read and easy to reference. Simple lists, funny celebrity quotes and a “YES, anyone can pull off a dinner party” confidence throughout will inspire readers to send the invites, plan the menu and clean the bathroom – it’s dinner party time!

And hey, if you’re waiting in line for brunch at Busboys the morning after your dinner party let’s talk about the book some more as I’d love to hear all the stories from your amazing dinner party!


This review was provided courtesy of Shirlington Busboys and Poets Bookseller Kenlynn Nelson. Be sure to catch Brendan and Rico at our upcoming event “Brunch is Hell with Busboys and Poets Books” on December 6 at 14th and V.

Rising Artist Frank Ocean did something important

Rising Artist Frank Ocean did something important

“We can thank Frank Ocean, not only for making a public statement that sweeps aside shadows and offers young fans another powerfully vulnerable star to admire and emulate, but for reminding us that while proudly declaring an identity can be a politically crucial gesture, often the human heart is not so sure-footed. The process of becoming and unbecoming, loving and losing, is what often makes for the most meaningful art.” – Ann Powers, NPR

Busboys and Poets Book Interview: Mamta Jain Valderrama

Busboys and Poets Book Interview: Mamta Jain Valderrama

Busboys and Poets Books is excited to have social justice author, Mamta Jain Valderrama coming to Busboys 14th & V to discuss her debut novel, A Girl In Traffick, based on true stories of human organ trafficking. In advance of the upcoming event, bookstore supervisor Kenlynn Nelson interviewed Mamta about her writing and thoughts on … Continued

On Censorship by Salman Rushdie

On Censorship by Salman Rushdie

No writer ever really wants to talk about censorship. Writers want to talk about creation, and censorship is anti-creation, negative energy, uncreation, the bringing into being of non-being, or, to use Tom Stoppard’s description of death, “the absence of presence.” Censorship is the thing that stops you doing what you want to do, and what writers want to talk about is what they do, not what stops them doing it.